Saturday Night Share Feature #2

It’s time for “Saturday Night Share” featuring Ashley Lanier of Willing Hands Crochet.  Ashley has hung out around ELK Studio’s Facebook page for a while and I’ve enjoyed her company and interaction on the page.  She actually has made the Hounds Tooth Scarf and featured it on “Making it thru Monday”.  Ashley was pretty excited today because someone added her scarf to a treasury on their Etsy store.  Her scarf turned out beautifully don’t you think?  The added red flower really adds a splash of color too!

Hounds Tooth Scarf

I chose Ashley and wanted to get to know a little more about her personally.  Here is the standard list of questions below:

  1. Name
  2. Name of business (Facebook, website, Etsy, etc.)
  3. How did you learn to crochet?
  4. How long have you been crocheting?
  5. What is your favorite thing to crochet?
  6. Is crocheting a hobby or business for you?
  7. Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years?
  8. Tell me something personal about yourself.

Here’s what Ashley had to say:

“Hi! I’m Ashley Lanier from www.facebook.com/WillingHandsCrochetByAshley and www.WillingHandsCrochet.etsy.com. My crocheting journey started many years ago when my great-grandmother taught me. My first project was a shell-stitch afghan! I must have been hooked from the beginning to take on and actually finish such a large project as a girl just learning to crochet.”

“One of my favorite things about crocheting is trying new patterns and stitches. Browsing the many patterns on Ravelry is always so much fun. Actually making them and seeing the result is even better! In the past several years I made many of my gifts to family and friends. Recently, several friends from very different walks of life encouraged me to open an Etsy shop. So I revived a earlier attempt and here I am! I’m officially in the crochet business. It is such a pleasure to create an item that someone else can appreciate and enjoy.”
 “It’s funny that my life is full of “C’s”- Christ, children, church, crocheting, and couponing. But my full-time job is as a mom to two girls ages 3 and 1. Being a mom has been the hardest and most rewarding privilege I’ve ever had. Starting a crochet business has been the hardest and most rewarding hobby I’ve had! My hope is that the next few years will bring growth to both my family and crochet business. But success in both, I know, will be through the blessing of the Lord. And it is all for His glory.”
Here is a picture of two of her most favorite little people in the world, her daughters Alayna and Julianna.  Some of the cutest little girls ever and I know you are so proud!  Thanks for sending the picture of them!
Image
It was such a pleasure to get to know more about you Ashley and I’m grateful you took the time out of your busy schedule to share with me and everyone else.
Check out Ashley’s Facebook page too.  She makes some really beautiful bracelets for a great cause!
Until next Saturday, have a great day and be blessed!
Kathy
3 thoughts on “Saturday Night Share Feature #2

Leave a Reply

